top of page

Liturgy and Sacraments

Let us keep the flame of faith alive through prayer and the sacraments. (Pope Francis)

Liturgy and sacraments are part of the formal, public prayer and worship of the Church. The Church encourages full, conscious, and active participation in the liturgy. A community celebrates the Liturgy of the Church through the celebration of the sacraments, Liturgy of the Word, and Liturgy of the Hours. 




Sacred Liturgy

The original meaning of the word “liturgy” was a public work or service on behalf of the people. In Christian understanding, the word liturgy refers to the participation of the people of God in “the work of God” (John 17:4). The New Testament understanding of “liturgy” includes the celebration of divine worship, the proclamation of the gospel and acts of charity (Catechism of the Catholic Church, nn.1069- 1070). Therefore, a community’s celebration of liturgy both reflects and influences what it proclaims, who it is, and what it does.

The Sacraments

Sacraments are signs of grace instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church through which the life of God is bestowed. There are seven sacraments in the Catholic Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony. The purpose of the sacraments is to sanctify, build up the Body of Christ, and give worship to God. Sacraments are signs, and they also instruct. Sacraments pre-suppose faith and nourish and express faith (Code of Canon Law, 1983, 1123-1131).


Certificate Request

Requests for verification of sacraments must be received in writing using the “Sacramental Certificate Request” form. This form must be completed in its entirety and submitted via email or in person to the parish office. 


Sacramental Certificates verifying the reception of Baptism, Confirmation, Marriage, and First Communion can only be released to the following persons. 


  1. The individual who received the sacrament (Age 18 or older). 

  2. A parent named in the record of a child under 18 years old.

  3. The legal guardian of a child under 18 provides proof of guardianship. 

  4. The spouse or executor of a deceased person giving evidence of death. 

  5. Catholic clergy or his delegate. 


The certificate will be prepared and mailed/emailed within 14 days to any of the above or picked up at the parish office by any of the above, or by a person delegated by the requestor (please provide proof of delegation). 

bottom of page